Page 3 - demolizioni
P. 3
OUR HOME FROM 1933 TO TODAY
The photo below shows us the house (highlighted in blue) during the demolition of the area in 1929. They had come very close and in 1933, when it was understood with certainty that the building would not be demolished along with the buildings opposite, the Vatican restructured.
And a second plaque, placed in the entrance hall, reminds us of this.
After exactly 50 years, in 1983, the "Velabro Real Estate Company" bought the building with the garden, and completely renovated it to make apartments.
The renovation was total: in practice, the building was "gutted" and completely rebuilt respecting the facades. The terraces and turrets we see today were built in place of the roofs (visible in the photo alongside).
The internal courtyard was made more regular by demolishing some parts of the building and the fountain was built in the center of the courtyard, which looks very similar (at least in the upper part) to the one that was posi- tioned 200 meters away, in the disappeared Piazza Montanara and currently relocated along Via dei Coronari.